Permits and Applications   Newsletters & Town Information   Contact Us

Town of Redwater Council 

Connie Butcher, Mel Smith, David McRae
Les Dorosh, Rob Olsen, Dody Kluttig, Joanne Williams

Council Standing Committees 2017 - 2018

Mel Smith (Mayor)

  • Capital Region Northeast Water Services Commission
  • Municipal Emergency Advisory Committee
  • Economic Development Board
  • Homeland Housing
  • Sturgeon Regional Partnership Committee
  • Edmonton Salutes

Mel is serving his fourth term as Mayor and previously served two terms as a councillor.  Mel was born and raised in Redwater. He and his wife Sophie have a daughter Tammy and two grandsons.

Mel started in business in 1972 and has been involved with land development and oilfield services since. Mel has been involved with minor sports, local service clubs and is a past president of the Chamber of Commerce.

Main:   780-942-3519
Cell:    780-220-2529
Home: 780-942-3991

Connie Butcher

  • Subdivision & Development Appeal Board
  • Roseridge Regional Landfill Commission
  • Joint Use Committee
  • Corporate Services Policy Committee
  • Community Services Policy Committee

Connie was born and raised in Redwater and has very deep roots in the history of the Town of Redwater. Her great grand parents had the first post office in Redwater and her grandparents were instrumental in building the first Catholic church in Town. Councillor Butcher has been on council since 1998 and served one term as mayor.

Connie entered politics because she believes in our community and our residents and has the political understanding of the challenges facing our community now and in the future.  She has been employed at Alberta Hospital since 1994 and has served as the Recreational Supervisor for the past 12 years.


David McRae

  • Municipal Emergency Advisory Committee
  • Capital Region Northeast Water Services Commission (Alternate)
  • Sturgeon Regional Emergency Advisory Committee
  • Redwater Library Board
  • Northern Lights Library System (Alternate)
  • Natural Gas Portfolio (Alternate)
  • Infrastructure Policy Committee

Home: 780-942-3878

Les Dorosh

  • Subdivision & Development Appeal Board (Alternate)
  • Capital Region Assessment Services Commission 
  • Community Services Board
  • Redwater Library Board
  • Northern Lights Library System
  • Community Services Policy Committee

Les is extremely excited to be on council for a third term.

Councillor Les Dorosh and his family have been living in Redwater since 1951. Les went to school in Redwater, raised his family here, worked in the oilfield and the Agrium plant and taught school in both St. Albert and Sturgeon School Divisions. He has also been on a variety of committees and executives, and played on and coached several different sports teams.

Les has a vested interest in the community that he cherishes and loves. He wants what is best for Redwater, and at least while being on council, has the opportunity for input.

He realizes that the town employees and fellow council members are very vibrant and updated and is looking forward to working with such a professional and talented group.

Home: 780-942-3363

 Dody Kluttig

  • Municipal Planning Commission
  • Capital Region Assessment Services Commission (Alternate)
  • Capital Regional Northeast Water Services Commission
  • Sturgeon Regional Emergency Advisory Committee (Alternate)
  • Economic Development Board
  • Infrastructure Policy Committee

Dody Kluttig is a community minded individual, who spent many years as a business owner and volunteer in Redwater. Dody grew up in many small towns throughout Alberta during her childhood, and chose to move to the Redwater area with her husband Dave and son Benjamin in 2001, because of the sense of values the community had to offer.

This is Dody’s second term on council. She chose to run for town council again with a goal of being a voice of the community to aid Redwater in this time of diversity. Dody’s has had great success with volunteer groups like Redwater Minor Hockey, Redwater Minor Ball, Redwater Economic Development Board, and many local fundraising events.

Dody is excited to at the opportunity to be a part of the planning process at a critical time where changes can be made to grow our town and add many amenities for the local residents to enjoy for years to come.


Joanne Williams

  • Municipal Planning Commission
  • Municipal Emergency Advisory Committee
  • Community Services Board
  • Joint Use Committee (Alternate)
  • Corporate Services Policy Committee
  • Community Services Policy Committee


Rob Olsen

  • Municipal Planning Commission
  • Roseridge Regional Landfill Commission (Alternate)
  • Natural Gas Portfolio
  • Edmonton Salutes (Alternate)
  • Corporate Services Policy Committee
  • Infrastructure Policy Committee

Councillor Olsen has been a resident of Redwater since 1997.  He and his wife Linda decided to remain in town, upon his retirement from the Canadian Forces in 2006, with their children Joshua and Braeden.

This is Councillor Olsen’s second term as a member of Council.

"I am looking forward to the new and many challenges that lie ahead for the Town of Redwater and the region. With the prospect of residential, commercial and industrial growth in the Town and area, I feel that living in Redwater during these times are going to be both exciting and frustrating. I know that the Town will pull through and will be a better place for us to live and raise our families when things are said and done. I want to see the Town maintain that small town feel that so many of us come to love about the Town of Redwater."